New Album “Do What You Love” Marks a Return to Indie Roots

Available Online and In-Stores October 2, 2012

Toronto, ON – August 14, 2012 Singer-songwriter Lily Frost’s catchy new release, Do What You Love, was conceived, written and recorded as a letter to the daughter she was about to have – a guide to life that contained lessons Lily learned along the way. With eight recordings to her credit, and over a decade navigating the music industry, Lily Frost has a lot of insight and lessons to share.

I wanted to make a fun, upbeat record for my daughter that included lessons I had learned the hard way,” says Lily. “I wanted to leave people feeling inspired with smiles on their faces.

For this latest offering, Lily enlisted the help of in-demand producers me&john (Ryan Kondrat and John LaMagna) to focus her sound. Do What You Love is a well-crafted musical mosaic that features instantly hummable pop songs (Do What You Love, Background Radio), 60s girl’s group inspired tunes (Poetry) – as well as trip-pop (Stand), country swing-folk (No Promises) and a cover of Pink Floyd’s San Tropez.

Lily Frost has always danced the line between indie and jazz, thus creating a niche of her own. Do What You Love puts Lily’s distinct sound and exceptional talents together in one concise package. From the lyrics to the arrangements to the striking artwork, it packs a punch and delivers insightful truths about life – embracing femininity with strength, joy and creativity. Lily Frost and Aporia Records will celebrate the release of Do What You Love on Saturday, September 15 at The Rivoli in Toronto, with special guest, Lou Canon.

Preview the first single from Do What You Love, ‘Background Radio’

Do What You Love – Track Listing
1. Background Radio – 3:08
2. I’m On Fire – 2:13
3. Do What You Love – 2:41
4. Grenade – 2:11
5. Poetry – 2:49
6. No Promises – 3:12
7. Long Sweet Ride – 3:30
8. It Shines – 4:02
9. Stand – 4:18
10. San Tropez – 3:14